19 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Me (AKA My Life Is Awesome)

First—yes, yes, this is the Rebekah you know and love. I just happen to have spent half of my morning reading Paper Fury (Cait’s lovely blog—SERIOUSLY GO CHECK IT OUT NOW), and her sarcastic, lovely voice has penetrated my brain. Way to go, Cait. One more follower on your road to world domination!

Second—I have three days straight off from work. While yes, I’ve still got a bazillion and one novels waiting in the wings for me to just pay attention to them, and cosmetology class at night, and I think my little sister stole my headphones again (no wait, that was yesterday…)—that means I have time to THINK. I have time to sit down, look at my novels, look around me at my life, and think “Wow. I really do have it good.”

I am a 19-going on-20 novelist, with the best family and surroundings that I could imagine—and you guys don’t even know about it.

So here goes! 19 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Me!

 

  1. I live in Bolivia.

No, Bolivia is not a country in Central America. Go South. Like, way South. That great big continent? Yeah, South America. You see that? Look at the smack-dab center of the continent. Bolivia. Yep, there.

 

  1. I have 7 siblings.

5 sisters, 2 brothers. Yes, the house is wild. No, they’re not my kids. Yes, we get along (well, usually.)

Are they up for sale? Nope, they’re mine. Mine, my own, my precious.

  1. I work in a cheese factory.

cheese-928851_640

You know you work with cheese when you can list off the ingredients of a 345-liter batch of Gouda cheese, time of curing, level of paint, pieces from each block… okay, maybe I’m not that smart. I CAN list off the ingredients, though. And probably make Gouda in my sleep.

That said, I can barely stand the stuff these days.

Other clueless person: “Bekah, would you like some cheese?”

Me: “Would I like a piece of the blood, sweat, tears, and stuff-squeezed-from-a-cow that I’ve spent the last 2,946 hours of my life making? Why no, thank you very much.”

Yuck.

 

  1. I rarely go by my name.

The name’s Rebekah, Rebekah Lynn. Thing is, I live in Bolivia. And I have siblings. I have been called by some variation of Rebekah, Rebeca (to be spoken with a Spanish accent), Bekah, Beks, Baba, hey you!, Child, Kid #1, Rebe, Rebequita… yeah. My 2-year-old brother calls me by this endearing “Be-uh”, since he can’t get his ks yet.

And don’t dare call me Miss DeVall. I have no idea who that person is.

In writer circles, I’m #flashfloodtypist and YOU MADWOMAN YOU.

 

  1. My hands-down favorite movies are weird.

So I write Christian fantasy, right? Would my favorite movies and shows be fantasy? Of course not.

Here goes, in random order because, #notthinking, my favorite movies:

rome-1208062_640

  • Come on. GLADIATOR. Can you get any better than that? Gladiator is the story of Maximus (Russell Crowe), whose refusal to serve the ambitious new emperor (who killed his father. *gasp* Spoiler alert!) results in the death of his family and his own capture into slavery (and later into the Roman arena).

First things first, I do NOT love this movie just because the main character dies. Or because a lot of other people die. I love this movie because big things happen. Love. Death. Armies rise and armies fall. Secrets are kept, and secrets are revealed.

And who doesn’t love the choreography of the arena battles?

 

thejoker-2688077_640

  • Batman: Dark Knight

I love, love, love this movie. Probably because the Joker freaks me out.

Big decisions are made in this movie. It’s been FOREVER since I really watched it, but I still remember that scene. Two boats, in the middle of a lake. One full of convicts, the other of civilians.

The Joker planted a bomb on each ship, and the technical detonator bomb-exploder things in the OPPOSITE boats (hey, don’t look at me. I’m not a criminal. I don’t know what those things are called! Point is, convicts and civilians must decide whether to kill everyone on the other boat or let themselves be killed.

Add to that—in fifteen minutes, the Joker blows them all up.

So yeah, high stakes. I think I gnawed off my proverbial fingernails the first few times I watched that.

 

  • Tron

Ask my sisters, they’ll tell you this movie is awesome because of the lead hunk.

Okay, he is hot (don’t look at me like that. I may not be looking for a guy but I got eyes), but that’s not what this movie is all about.

Sam Flynn, son of a video game designer, finds himself trapped in the game that his dad designed.

My love for this movie probably stems from the fact that it was the first movie of this type I had seen (and the best so far!). So… different. And the focus on light and dark through the entire movie…

 

  • FLASHPOINT

Okay, if there is one show that I will fangirl over endlessly, THIS IS IT. Flashpoint is a Canadian-based cop show and WOW.

For one thing, have you any idea HOW HARD it is to write an ensemble cast like that? Yet the entire cast of Flashpoint grows throughout the series. They grow closer. They solve mysteries. They save lives.

And I LOVE IT.

 

 

And there’s more. I know there’s more shows I like. Just wait for another rambling post wherein I remember them all (ha!).

 

  1. My TBR pile probably caused the eclipse this last month.

book-1659717_640

TBR: To-be-read. Aka, Books I Got Because 1) my sister liked them, 2) they looked good, 3) they’re written by a friend, or 4) why not? It’s not like I have anything else to do!

No joke, this thing is so big it could cause an eclipse. My Kindle App alone has 543 books on it. Let’s not even mention all the physical books in this house that I haven’t read (although ¾ of them are romance, so I’m probably not going to).

How many of those 543 books have I read?

I don’t know, 30%? Maybe 40%? Someday…

Oh, not to mention the ARCs I have piling up. I seriously need to learn how to say “NO!”

 

  1. Romance? Blech.

valentines-day-1159281_640

I seriously don’t like romance. Romance on TV, romance in books, romance in movies, romance in Disney movies, romance songs on the radio, romance songs on YouTube.

I’m romanced out.

That said, my stupid characters have other ideas (*coughs at Marie and Farran*). Will there be romance in my stories? Yeah, probably. Unfortunately. But I’m NOT going overboard with it.

 

  1. I’m an aspiring cosmetologist/hairstylist.

makeup-2676392_640

Hence the night classes. I can braid like nobody’s business, but this makeup stuff? Gar! I do okay on it. Give me face paint and let me doodle on my model’s face, sure. Ask me to define the difference between night makeup and daytime makeup, smokey eyes and a smear of makeup on your eyebrow line? Um, sorry. Not the right person.

That said… nah, I’ll break your brain with some of the stories I could tell.

 

  1. INTJ Alert.

 

For those of you who are not aware, there’s this nifty little personality-tester thing called MBTI, which gives 16 different personality types. It’s great for character development.

Problem is, I test as an INTJ. Guess what other INTJs there have been?

  • Sherlock Holmes.
  • Vladimir Lenin
  • Augustus Caesar
  • Charles Darwin
  • S. Lewis (okay, I can stand with that one!)
  • Beethoven
  • Hannibal Lector
  • Edna Mode
  • Gandalf

 

That said, my personality type twins tend to be either epic villains or dead. Hm.

 

Aaaaaand that will be all for today. Don’t want to blind you all with my awesomeness! *wink*

So tell me: What are some things I don’t know about you? And is Flashpoint awesome or is it AWESOME?!

 

10 thoughts on “19 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Me (AKA My Life Is Awesome)

  1. Aww, I absolutely loved this! Also I totally never knew you liked Batman; he’s definitely one of the cooler guys in the house of DC comics. I liked this post, and I also really liked your voice, it was quirky and cute and totally you! 🙂 And also all those people who share your personality are awesome (in, you know, cool and creepy ways, haha) You got Sherlock Holmes. . . that is so amazing! I shall remember that you loathe cheese. . . BUT ROMANCE IS SO— LOL No, I totally get it. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. 7–I’m the same way! I always swore I’d never write stories with romance, but somehow it just creeps in?? Idk. I’m an INFJ, and I have some missionary friends who live in Bolivia. I go to Colombia once or twice a year, and have since I was 13! 🇨🇴

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was awesome!!! It was so fun getting to know you! And wow, it sounds so cool to be a cosmetologist. Don’t feel bad about being INTJ though. My mom’s actually intj too, fun fact, and I’m entj, so you’re in good company! Warning: I am obsessive about the Myers Briggs Personality Test 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Don’t forget Darth Vader! INTJs… yes. We aren’t all villains, I swear. XD
    Ooo, yes. I love Tron too. The pacing was a little weird, but I liked it. And Flashpoint! I still haven’t finished the whole show. Time and such. But I love the people so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

