This Wednesday’s World: “White Wolf and the Ash Princess” by Tammy Lash

 

1. White Wolf and the Ash Princess is set in the seventeenth century, about a girl named Izzy. What inspired you to set a story in this place and time period?

 

White Wolf is in divided into two parts and it was designed that way to be a “nod” to my two favorite books. Part One is the “prim and proper”, stuffy world of Jane Eyre. Part Two is wide open and wild and it is the complete opposite of the first half. It’s the rugged, untamed New World similar to the one I fell in love with in the book, Mrs. Mike. Mrs. Mike took place in Canada in the 1940’s; White Wolf takes place in the 1670’s. The second half of the book begins on the east coast of the U.S., and the story makes its way up to Michigan.  I love the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and that’s where I got the inspiration for the the wild aspects of the book. Fun Fact: Izzy’s final destination is in Munising, Michigan…my family’s favorite place to vacation.

 

2. Given the chance, what part of the world would you visit in the seventeenth century and why?

Ohhhh! Without a doubt I’d want to visit here….The New World… before there was houses, cars and shoulder-to-shoulder people. It would be nothing but a sea of trees, trees, and more trees! It’d be complete heaven!! I know how it feels when we visit a new spot in the U.P.  It’s so exciting and new! I can’t imagine it on a larger scale. Add discovering a new culture in the mix–WOW–the whole idea is thrilling! I find Native American culture extremely interesting. My mom passed down her favorite book to me when I was a teen and it was Mrs. Mike that’s what got me asking questions. I “saw” America’s First People for the first time. My mom’s gifted book made them a “real” people. Before Mrs. Mike, I didn’t know much about them. To me they were the scary, sculp-stealing “savages” of the westerns that were on TV when I was little on Saturday mornings– or the cute poster cut-outs that my mom used to tape up on our doors at Thanksgiving. You know, the stereotypical chubby “Indian” boy and girl with a turkey feather sticking out of the backs of their heads. They weren’t people to me. They were the dusty figures of our history books. I’ve grown to have a deep appreciation, love and respect for this beautiful culture that is still alive and thriving today. A friend of mine, who is Anishnaabe (Canadian Ojibwe) says it best, “We always talk about native culture in a historical way, but it is very much alive.”

 

3. Which would you like least?

I would say the busy hub-bub of England and the “stuffy” culture that was alive during that time. I LOVE how everyone dressed back then (I’d be on board to bring it all back–but wait–I love my hoodies and jeans, soooo, never mind). I love the decor…and all the “romantic” elements…”girl-waits-for-the-perfect-suitor/perfect-suitor-finds-girl-and-marries-her-against-all-odds” type of thing, but that’s about it. Izzy agrees and you’ll see it in Part One of White Wolf and the Ash Princess.

 

4. Finally, what are you working on and where can readers find you?

Right now I’m working on a “secret” project that my author friend and I are going to reveal at my White Wolf and the Ash Princess Re-release Party July 29th. You’re invited to come, but if you can’t (*sob*, *sniff*), you can catch up on the news here (https://www.facebook.com/events/1856397391038786/?acontext=%7B%22action_history%22%3A[%7B%22mechanism%22%3A%22bookmarks%22%2C%22surface%22%3A%22bookmarks_menu%22%2C%22extra_data%22%3A%22[]%22%7D%2C%7B%22surface%22%3A%22dashboard%22%2C%22mechanism%22%3A%22calendar_tab_event%22%2C%22extra_data%22%3A%22[]%22%7D]%2C%22ref%22%3A46%2C%22source%22%3A2%7D)  and/or you can visit  my author page or blog. It’s a super fun project!  I am also working on the sequel to White Wolf and the Ash Princess. Letters From the Dragon’s Son is Jonathan’s story. It’s rather heartbreaking, I must admit, and I feel horrible for him….but……I must say no more because there are many readers who have yet to discover White Wolf.

Readers can find me on my blog (https://tammylash.wordpress.com/), my facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/tammylashauthor/), Pinterest n(https://www.pinterest.com/queenben/), and Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/queenloudteefa/?hl=en) and you can find my book on Amazon (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073D93YZ6/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1) or you can order on through me personally and I’ll sign it for you.

I ADORE my readers.  Readers are an author’s best friend. They give our books life. Without readers, books would be nothing but pages on a shelf. I truly love and appreciate each of my White Wolf supporters.  So, thank you, dear friends and THANK YOU, Rebekah, for having me on your blog. HUGS!

One thought on “This Wednesday’s World: “White Wolf and the Ash Princess” by Tammy Lash

Leave a Reply

